Online Forum: Why Reconciling Ways of Knowing?

We are pleased to announce the first dialogue in the series we will bring you over the coming months: Why Reconciling Ways of Knowing? 

This episode will stream live on July 27, 2020 at 10:00 am Pacific / 12:00 pm Central / 2:00 pm Atlantic.

Moderator Valerie Courtois will facilitate a dialogue amongst Miles Richardson, O.C.; Dr. David Suzuki; Dr. Nancy Turner; and Elder Dr. Dave Courchene, Jr.; on the need for reconciliation between Indigenous and Western scientific ways of knowing.

In our first dialogue in this series – Why Do We Need to Reconcile Ways of Knowing? – these leaders in working at the confluence of Indigenous and scientific knowledge and decision making will discuss the events, issues and relationships that made it clear that a national-scale dialogue to facilitate just reconciliation between the ways of knowing and ways of being of Indigenous Peoples and Canadians, and their respective governments, is needed.

They will speak to how such reconciliation between these different life-ways is the essential precondition for addressing a series of growing stewardship challenges we are facing, including escalating climate change and biodiversity loss, and for setting ourselves on the right footing as we move forward through and after the impacts of COVID-19.

They will articulate the project’s practical, change-oriented focus on bringing together Indigenous knowledge keepers and public, private and non-governmental policy and decision-makers whose resource and environmental stewardship work calls on them – under treaty, Aboriginal, and intersocietal legal obligations –  to work with Indigenous knowledge and Indigenous knowledge keepers.

To register and for more information about this series, please visit – https://www.waysofknowingforum.ca/online